August 2020
« Sep    

Search Posts


About Us

We love fashion, culture, music, and everything in between. From politics to the runway, we're unbashful in our views, constructive in our thoughts, and glamorous in our style. Welcome!

  • Email us:
  • Follow us on Twitter:
  • Senior Managing Editor
    Virginia “Ginny” Van de Wall
  • Junior Managing Editors
    Megan Dawson
  • Jessica Passananti
  • Fashion Editor
    Mashal Zaman
  • Culture Editor
    Lindsay Jill Barton
  • Music Editor
    Lakin Starling
February 15, 2012  | by: Jaira Keys

Taylor Swift recently released the video to accompany her song, “Safe & Sound” to MTV. The song features Grammy award winning group The Civil Wars. This single will be featured in the highly anticipated film, “Hunger Games” and will also be included in the soundtrack. Both of these groups performed at the Grammys as well as earned a golden record player.


I absolutely love the melody that The Civil Wars bring to the song. The song is just gorgeous. I could play it over and over again. The video also does a great job of accompanying the song. It doesn’t over power or take away from the music but rather it fits perfectly.

When Taylor was asked by MTV what her strategy would be in the Hunger Games she said,

“Honestly, I just, I think I would just be the person who runs and hides. Just to be as self-aware as possible, like I kind of freeze. You know how you have like fight, flight, or freeze. Those are your three reactions to something scary. Like, I just freeze. So I would try to run and hide somewhere.  There are a few ways that Katniss, kind of, in the book she has to kill people, but she does it in an indirect way. I think that would be something I would try to do.”

Now, to the thing I want to talk about all of the time, “The Hunger Games.” I can’t wait to see this film. I have read all of the books. You should read them as well. The film will be released March 23, 2012 and will feature a certain rock star by the name of Lenny Kravitz. He isn’t one of the main stars but I thought I should  mention him because he is so cool. The soundtrack will be released on March 20. The playlist is as follows:

1. “Safe & Sound” (feat. The Civil Wars) by Taylor Swift
2. “Eyes Wide Open” by Taylor Swift
3. “Abraham’s Daughter” by Arcade Fire
4. “The Ruler & The Killer” by Kid Cudi
5. “Run Daddy Run” (feat. Pistol Annies) by Miranda Lambert
6. “Kingdom Come” by The Civil Wars
7. “One Engine” by The Decemberists
8. “Take The Heartland” by Glen Hansard
9. “Lover Is Childlike” by The Low Anthem
10. “Dark Days” by Punch Brothers
11. “Tomorrow Will Be Kinder” by The Secret Sisters
12. “Just a Game” by Birdy
13. “Oh Come & Sing” by Ella Mae Bowen
14. “Rules” by Jayme Dee
15. “Reaping Day” by Carolina Chocolate Drops
16. “Give Me Something” I’ll Remember by Neko Case
17. Video “Safe & Sound” (Bonus Video) by Taylor Swift

This will surely be the film of the year. Everyone should go and check it out. “May the odds be ever in your favor.”

Watch the “Hunger Games” trailer below.

Social Share Toolbar
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.