September 2020
« Sep    

Search Posts


About Us

We love fashion, culture, music, and everything in between. From politics to the runway, we're unbashful in our views, constructive in our thoughts, and glamorous in our style. Welcome!

  • Email us:
  • Follow us on Twitter:
  • Senior Managing Editor
    Virginia “Ginny” Van de Wall
  • Junior Managing Editors
    Megan Dawson
  • Jessica Passananti
  • Fashion Editor
    Mashal Zaman
  • Culture Editor
    Lindsay Jill Barton
  • Music Editor
    Lakin Starling
March 16, 2012  | by: Nicholas Persad

Awards Season may not be over just yet.

The nominees and honorees for the 2012 Council of Fashion Designers Awards (CFDA) ceremony were announced on Wednesday night to a few surprises.

Let’s start off with Johnny Depp!

You are probably wondering why Mr. Depp is even being mentioned in this post about fashion, especially since he doesn’t look like he showers too often or changes his clothes.

The actor is being honored with the Fashion Icon Award. Truthfully, Depp’s style is very different from other leading men in Hollywood, and he definitely takes risks with fashion and is not hindered by any critics. Plus, women still love him. I think he is a well-deserved recipient!

Tommy Hilfiger is also being recognized with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

The nominations for Womenswear Designer of the Year, also known as ‘the most important category’, are Marc Jacobs (No surprise there!), Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row.

Yes! I did just write that the Olsen twins are nominated for a prestigious fashion award. However, I completely agree with the nomination. The garments produced by The Row are fabulous. They are an extension of the twins’ own unique style, and I love it.

Mary-Kate and Ashley for The Row

That being said, I don’t think they can overpower the amazingness that is Marc Jacobs. Did you see his designs for Louis Vuitton at Paris Fashion Week?

The nominations for Menswear Designer of the Year are Simon Spurr, Patrik Ervell and Billy Reid. Personally, I love the clothes by Patrik Ervell, so he is my top pick.

Check out the rest of the nominees here.

The ceremony will be held on June 4, 2012 at Alice Tully Hall in New York and hosted by funnyman Seth Meyers

Social Share Toolbar
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.